Notices

fourth time lucky??

Old 06-11-2014, 03:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

fourth time lucky??

Hi there, I've never posted here before, or on any forum, but I've read a lot of threads here and they're very helpful.

I really don't like endlessly going on about myself but I'm in a bit of a pickle and just wanted to get some stuff off my chest and see what everyone has to say.

I've just turned 22, and I've tried to detox four times, once in a centre, the other times on an outpatient detox with Librium.

Drank since I was 14, heavily after I had some major surgery at 18 and kept on going until I realised that I'd ****** a lot of things up and that I was addicted: I had seizures, was diagnosed with epilepsy, and it took me and my family a long time to realise it was the booze: im an expert at hiding bottles etc.

First tried detox with Librium last summer, relapsed, went into a clinic in October, relapsed, Librium again last Christmas, you get the picture. Now I'm on it again, and it seems to be working. The big kick up the arse was when my girlfriend of nearly a year left me a few days ago, she'd put up with a lot of crap from me and then realised I'd managed to get through a litre and a half of vodka she thought was safe (she didnt realise I'd relapsed and I knew what would happen if i told her). I didn't even realise I'd drank that much. Anyway I'm back at my parent's house now, in the country, where I'll be for the next few months with a Librium scrip.

It's a good place to detox, I lived in the city for the last few years, where drugs and alcohol were easier to get hold of than a takeaway pizza, but here it's £3.50 a pint, I'm a known 'pisshead' among my friends who monitor what I drink, and if I buy alcohol in the shop I can guarantee word will spread like wildfire and I'll be ostracised again...village life.