Notices

The pain is too great.....

Old 04-06-2014, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The pain is too great.....

I talked to my old sponsor a few weeks ago. He told me alcoholism is all about pain. When the drinking causes too much pain, we will seek the program.
If we do not embrace the program, the pain of sobriety will become too great and we will seek alcohol.

He was right. I came to the program about 6 years ago at the age of 40. I managed to stay sober for about 2 1/2 years. ....but that is all I did....stayed sober. I didn't really work the program.
For the past 3 years I have been struggling. A head full of AA and a belly full of whiskey Iis a bad combination. Drinking was no longer my solution....It didn't take away my pain any longer. The pain became greater. I am what they call a high functioning alcoholic. ...but that is all I've been doing for the last 3 years. Just functioning.
Kept trying to quit....but not really. A few days here, a month there....you know the drill.
But the pain won't go away.

I am 24 hours sober today. I want my life back. I want to live again. To truly live, to be a member of the human race. To be helpful to others. To be the kind of person I was long ago....A friend that a friend would love to have. A good husband. A good father. A good man.

I want the pain to go away.
Old 04-06-2014, 09:41 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Baby Steps

I wish you all the best in your recovery. The fact that you want all these things is a good start. Remember what it is you want when your are struggling with wanting a drink remember your wife and children. I wish my husband had reached this point

Good luck and stay strong.
Old 04-06-2014, 09:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Work on your own problems , and all of life gets better .

I just could not take being mad all the time , went to anger mgt
It helped a lot .
Old 04-06-2014, 09:49 AM
  # 4 (permalink)