Notices

Newcomer Inching Towards Recovery

Old 03-06-2014, 05:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Newcomer Inching Towards Recovery

Hi, everyone. I wrote this on January 16th, I can't believe it was that long ago, but things have stayed the same. I think about not drinking every day, I'm trying to get there. I think starting here will help. This is where I'm at. And after reading a lot of posts here I think you can probably relate. -Jen (Also, not sure I can post something this huge but we'll see.)

What I'm about to say is hard. But I'm ready to share this, at least from this comfortable, semi-anonymous spot. For the past, I don't even know how many years, I've been walking a fine line between "drinking a lot" and "alcoholic". I really don't know how long it's been going on. I tried to come up with a date in therapy today. All I could say was that I've been drinking heavily for at least 5 years, practically daily for probably two. I tried putting marks on my calendar when there was a day that I didn't drink but the marks became so few and far between that it just depressed me to continue doing it.

Today I realized something important: "I don't feel anything," I told my therapist. She's a god damn genius who I believe generally cares about what happens to me and wants better things for me. I've been seeing her for years. "...Which is why I started drinking so much in the first place," I said, "because I didn't want to feel anything. And now I have reasons to feel and it's just sad." One of those reasons is my gf. We met in early August (2013) and it was nuts [....] What I'm trying to get at is that I can't have both relationships. I can't be with her and continue my f-ed up, self-abusive relationship with alcohol. I just can't do both. And there's one that I want more than the other. I was telling my therapist this and she was like, "Well, I'm hoping..." "It's her," I said.