Notices

Having a hard time today.

Old 01-18-2014, 04:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Having a hard time today.

I am 4 days sober today. For all that don't know I was a binger, I drank about every 3 days and when I drank I would consume probably 8 shots,( maybe more, you lose count when drinking that much) anyway so today really only feels like I have accomplished one extra day and a can feel the pull to drink today. I have been very stressed out because at 32 I don't have a job and my husband has been struggling with his painting job. He has been losing hours lately. I feel like a failure, I worked in retail 3 years ago but now I am a stay at home mom. I only did a little college and I worry about what I am doing with my life all the time. I see all my friends with good careers and it makes me feel like a I am doing nothing with my life. I spend a lot of time thinking about what I want to do and nothing comes to mind. I can't afford college right now and having a child makes it hard to work, I pick him up at 11am from preschool everyday so a job needs to work around that. Anyway this all makes me feel like I need to drink. I feel like can't cope. I know if I drink I will stop worrying. It doesn't help that tomorrow is my birthday and on every other birthday I drank to celebrate. I know it sounds so dumb but I feel like I deserve to be able to drink on my dang birthday. I don't know, maybe I am just not going to be able to do this sober thing right now. I can be so gung ho about it one day and then the next I think come on you didn't drink THAT MUCH. You can drink. I know its my AV telling me all this stuff. I just feel so anxious and depressed and lost.
Old 01-18-2014, 04:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Have you thought about finding more support than just SR?
It might be helpful to have some face to face support as well?

There's many different approaches and methods of recovery around - here's some links to some of the main players: