Notices

Worried about DOT Physical - Swollen Liver

Old 08-25-2013, 10:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Worried about DOT Physical - Swollen Liver

Long story short: I have been drinking for 10 years - 4 of which were heavy (at least a pint and often a fifth of 80 proof vodka at least 4 nights out of the week). In the past 6 months I have cut my drinking down considerably but have found it difficult to quit totally. When I do abstain, on a scale from 1 to 10 my withdrawal symptoms are probably a 3-4: Elevated BP and heart rate for a week or so, insomnia, brain fog for a few weeks longer. So it's not a big deal to not drink...( Side note: Doesn't make any sense why I don't just then stop does it?)

I am attempting a career change and I need to have a full Department of Transportation physical examination. They do check for signs and symptoms of alcoholism and I haven't had any sort of physical in years so I don't know if my liver is swollen. However, there's no way it's not noticeably enlarged. I don't feel any abdominal discomfort in that area but I am justifiably worried.

I am considering a concentrated effort to put the bottle down in an effort to relieve my liver and allow it to return to a more normal state. I have read multiple times on here that if people's liver enzymes were elevated they usually returned to normal ranges fairly quickly (30-60 days) after abstinence. Generally speaking how true is that? Does inflammation go hand in hand with enzyme levels?

They do not take blood during this physical, they require a urine sample and palpation of the abdomen to "identify unknown or hidden illnesses".

I know this is a recovery forum, and abstinence is the word here..I'm working on it.
Old 08-25-2013, 10:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

There's really no way to know - common sense suggests you'll get a better result from not drinking from now.

If the examination uncovers anything it might be for the best notso?