Notices

Admitting to others your an alcoholic

Old 06-02-2013, 09:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
...It's Time.

Admitting to others your an alcoholic

I am still new to recovery. I know i shouldnt be thinking about dating but i am single and met someone just by chance. I am scared telling him im a recovering alcoholic is going to scare him away. But we are getting to the point where he is noticing my depression and wants to know whats going on.

At what point did you admitt to others you are an alcoholic? I still have issues telling myself im one.
Old 06-02-2013, 10:17 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by MadameX View Post
I am still new to recovery. I know i shouldnt be thinking about dating but i am single and met someone just by chance. I am scared telling him im a recovering alcoholic is going to scare him away. But we are getting to the point where he is noticing my depression and wants to know whats going on.

At what point did you admitt to others you are an alcoholic? I still have issues telling myself im one.
what im wondering is what yer motive in this relationsip thing is.i hope yer not lookin for anything more than friendship.i got into a relationship early in recovery, against the advise fo others. it wasnt very good as i only attracted someone as sick as me.
personally i thiink ya ought to be more concerned with admitting and accepting it with the person in the mirror than anyone else.
that will make getting into a solution easier.
Old 06-02-2013, 10:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Iduno,just a while ago you were talking about a trip to the liquor store. There really is a reason they say to wait. If you are an alcoholic,and quit. It really does take some time to figure out just who the heck you are.
I would be happy one minute,and bite someones head off the next. There is a reason they call it an emotional roller coaster ride (because thats what it is) Then there is also the factor of when something goes wrong in a relationship,it is a trigger to drink.