Notices

Taking my first steps, trying to stay balanced

Old 02-22-2013, 05:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Taking my first steps, trying to stay balanced

Hi there. I'm new to joining the forums but have been an avid reader for the past month. I've read well over 20 threads so far and can say you guys have been so much help in reminding me why I want to be free from the clutches of alcohol.

I'm on day 5 of sobriety and had a rough drinking problem for 3 years. It was escapism to the max, as I thought I could erase my woes but last week I hit a point where I was vomiting all day and felt terrible. I looked at myself in the mirror. My face was puffy, my eyes were red, my teeth felt strange and I felt ashamed that I couldn't look at the sun without resembling the unibomber.

My dad spoke to me last week and it really shook me. He made me realize how selfish I've been. Right now he's in the living room with a bottle and I feel really betrayed. Sobriety has been smooth until now. Suddenly I'm angry and feel resentful and almost jealous. It seems unreasonable, right? I guess this isn't gonna be as easy as I thought. I don't have a problem with my friends drinking but someone who was instrumental in my sobriety is slapping me in the face. Has anyone felt something like this before? I'm pretty young and kinda lost
Old 02-22-2013, 05:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Community Greeter

Welcome Groov. It's wonderful that you posted! I'm sure someone will be along with a similar experience to share. I haven't had that particular problem, but everything else you mentioned is what I went through, too. I was looking for escape and a way to cope - and all I found was misery.

Please keep posting and stay with us. We want to help. I'm sorry you're feeling low about what happened - but you can rise above it and continue on your path to a new life. Congratulations on your 5 sober days. That's something to be proud of!
Old 02-24-2013, 05:30 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Congratulations on five days!