Notices

I tried to quit by myself and it didn't work

Old 11-30-2011, 02:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I tried to quit by myself and it didn't work

I really need to get this off my chest: I'm an alcoholic. I've known this for 9 years. I have never been in denial with myself but I try very hard to make sure no one else knows. I'm very high functioning. I graduated college, married a successful, awesome man. I had a great career going until I quit to be a stay-at-home mother. I've never been arrested or got into any trouble of any kind...ever! Also, I have never done anything mean or harmful to anyone else while drinking. I've been "managing" my drinking with varying success over the years. When I'm doing good, I hold myself to only drinking only on Saturdays. The worst it's ever been was drinking every other day before I had kids. Usually, I'm at least two days a week though.

I have been able to curb my drinking these last few years by getting into compulsive exercising. I found that the more I exercise, the less I feel like drinking. It's a very delicate balance to maintain. I also have figured out how to avoid hangovers by drinking massive amounts of water before bed and every time I wake up during the night. By morning, I'm fine. Aren't I clever?! (sarcasm) Recently, however, my house of cards had a big blow: I got injured and have been told that I have to take a few weeks off from exercise. It's amazing how quickly I have returned to every other day drinking.