Notices

Quiet My Mind

Old 11-28-2011, 08:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

Quiet My Mind

Dear Higher Power,

Teach me to quiet my mind.

Stop my thoughts from racing from one thing to another.

Stop me from the obsessive thinking about the lives of others.

Help me rest and quiet my mind.

Help me let go of trying to control the lives of others.

Free my mind to be at rest.

This I pray.
Old 11-28-2011, 08:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

The way I learned to meditate was through running.
At first, I would recite the 3rd step prayer over and over again like a cadence. (but that wasn't really "quiet".
Then I graduated to just concentrating on my foot strikes. (not so quiet either)
Then on to my breathing. (pretty quiet)
Finally on to just emptying my mind of all thoughts, sounds, distractions. This is where I started to be able to listen. Conscious contact is a two way street. Prayer is going out. The real hurdle for me was listening. Thankfully behind me.
Old 11-28-2011, 09:03 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thinking of you and sending you strength. I am guessing it it the not nowing that is not letting your mind quiet.
I am home all day so if you need to chat or talk I am here.
Old 11-28-2011, 09:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Its_me_jen

Ah, meditation has always alluded me.

At this point, I'm finding it difficult to recite a prayer in my head without it being interrupted my another thought.

Thanks Art!
Old 11-28-2011, 01:19 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Self recovered Self discovered

Give this practice, called mindfulness, a try, PaperDolls. I find it's like taking a vacation for me away from 'the committee' in my brain.

Mindfulness and Kindness: Inner Sources of Freedom and Happiness
Old 11-28-2011, 01:52 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

There's good advice here, PD!

I hope you can find some peace.
Old 11-28-2011, 02:18 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Location:   « USA »                       Recovered with AVRT  (Rational Recovery)  ___________