Notices

New to this, tired of being a drunk.

Old 11-08-2011, 08:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to this, tired of being a drunk.

I'm new to this site and I want to quit to drinking for good. I'm 27, a nurse, and a single mother of 6 and 8 year old girls. I have been drinking daily for about 4 years, drinking about a bottle of wine day (often more) and it is now starting to affect my life very badly. I've recently become violent with my boyfriend when I was blacked out and have probably blacked out 10 times in the last 30 days. I'm late for work all of time, always hungover, and I'm not caring for my kids like I should. I've tried moderation but I realize now I just need to stop altogether.

I'm currently struggling with the idea that alcohol makes things more fun, and that I'll be dommed for a life of dullness now. Both of my parents are active alcoholics and I hate that my kids have seen me so messed up so often. I guess I just don't know what to expect now.
Thanks for reading!
Old 11-08-2011, 08:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Nicthewino84 View Post

I'm currently struggling with the idea that alcohol makes things more fun, and that I'll be dommed for a life of dullness now.
I definitely know that feeling unfortunately.
Old 11-08-2011, 08:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Oh I hope you do it! I'm also a nurse, but I didn't quit drinking until I was 45..it would be oh so good if you would now!
Old 11-08-2011, 08:45 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I'm 27, a nurse, and a single mother of 6 and 8 year old girls. I have been drinking daily for about 4 years, drinking about a bottle of wine day (often more) and it is now starting to affect my life very badly. I've recently become violent with my boyfriend when I was blacked out and have probably blacked out 10 times in the last 30 days. I'm late for work all of time, always hungover, and I'm not caring for my kids like I should. I've tried moderation but I realize now I just need to stop altogether.