Notices

hello, i'm new here.

Old 10-28-2011, 11:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

hello, i'm new here.

hello folks, thought i'd share my story as this is my first time dropping the bottle and joining and recovery forum.

i was drinking very heavily for 3 years. last year is when it really started growing over the top as i moved away from my parents and family. it went from getting drunk, to getting blackout drunk on the daily. every other day i'd go out and buy a new bottle of rum/vodka, i depleted them like they were water bottles. half a liter was no problem for me, it got to where i wouldn't wake up feeling hungover, i'd just tell myself "oh, nothing seems to be a problem, time for a couple shots." this would be as soon as i woke up.

it's now been a week since my last drink. today was the worst so far. the awful headaches have continued for 3 days without ceasing. the cold sweats and shaking, even vocal shaking. i've been drinking water like someone who's been stuck in the desert for days without a single drop and i still have that cottonmouth feeling and desire to drink more water. the good bit is that i've been enjoying eating more and occupying myself with things i'd put off.

hopefully, i can keep this up. i know i can, and my friends are in full support (which is good knowledge to have). i however, get the urge each day to go out and get a bottle. it's like my mind is trying to trick itself into believing i'll be able to moderate it which i know is not true.

anyways, it's nice to be part of this forum and look forward to talking with you all.
Old 10-29-2011, 12:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome mistermystery

A weeks a long time to feel like that - if you haven't seen one yet I recommend seeing a Dr - at the very least you can set your mind to rest about your health

glad you've joined us - you'll find a lot of support here

D
Old 10-29-2011, 03:57 AM
  # 3 (permalink)