Notices

Seeking a partner without drink

Old 10-17-2011, 09:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Seeking a partner without drink

First of all, I am always enormously grateful for the support and encouragement I receive on this Forum. It really makes a big difference to me. I hope that I don’t make a habit of only sharing my frustrations and anxieties here but on this occasion I want to talk about what I see as being a big problem for me – loneliness.

My background is that I am 44 and I have not been in a relationship for a couple of years. I was divorced nearly ten years ago and I don’t have any contact with my ex-wife. We didn’t have any children.

I would very much like to find a new partner and I have recently been trying different approaches. This links very closely to my drinking so let me try to be frank about this. On the days I am being “good” I look for opportunities to meet women in coffee shops, markets or other “dry” places. For example, on Sunday I went to a fashionable area in the afternoon and made an effort to speak to three attractive women. Each was in a different location and on her own. I must have been doing OK, because I got all their names and numbers after a few minutes of conversation! That was partly because I had studied techniques in how to talk to women using books I had ordered from the internet. I also dressed nicely, had a good haircut and chose people who I thought would have something in common with me, ie: art or music. One of the women, it turned out, was married. The second didn’t live in my city. The third did seem available and gave off a lot of classic flirtation signs when I spoke to her. But when I texted her on Monday to ask if she’d like to meet up later this week, she took 10 hours to reply and then told me she was busy.