Notices

Day 43- panic attacks...worsening

Old 05-28-2011, 07:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 43- panic attacks...worsening

Have been sober 43 days now, and while it looked like the anxiety was tapering, it seemed to have come roaring back the last several days, usually triggered by the prospect of physical intimacy, which has been hit-or miss since Ive been sober. I'm really beginning to think that my anxiety is NOT a result of the brain resetting from years of alcohol, but rather general anxiety disorder which I have always had, but was unconsiously self-medicating so never dealt with it. Thinking of going on Buspar....anyone with experience/input? Thanks!
Old 05-28-2011, 07:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience with anxiety meds 4thekidz - I think it's always best to have a chat with your doctor and decide together what treatment is right for your particular circumstances....whats worked for others may not be right for you....you may decide counselling is a better option for example?

D
Old 05-28-2011, 09:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I took celexa for a while. Initially liked it since it cured my anxiety, but long term it became an awful compliment to my already bad drinking problem.

Definitely talk to your Dr and weigh out the pros and cons. These meds are nothing to screw around with.
Old 05-28-2011, 09:55 PM
  # 4 (permalink)