Notices

Anxiety/Panic Attacks from Hangover

Old 04-08-2011, 11:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
DDNNPP

Anxiety/Panic Attacks from Hangover

Hello,

I am new to all of this so forgive me for any breeches of etiquette, but I wanted to start this particular thread as a way to hear others experiences with anxiety/panic attacks resulting from an alcohol hangover.

I am currently having an immense amount of anxiety and panic attacks at work after having overdone it last night. I feel insane, sick, and I am terrified that I've done some real damage to my body (which I undoubtedly have, but I fear life-threatening damage). I always get this way after a night of drinking, and I really am not sure why I ever come back. I had 14 days of sobriety prior to this slip up. I am sure I will work through it, as I have hundreds upon hundreds of time before, but it's still terrifying.

Just hearing stories of how other people have endured the same thing, and got through it, is extremely helpful. I have Klonopin, but I refuse to take it as I have a really addictive personality and was hooked on that and recently weened myself off of it. I just need to know this can be done.
Old 04-08-2011, 12:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I used alcohol to self-medicate anxiety/panic attacks and it made things so much worse. I had horrible anxiety after a night of drinking.

Stopping drinking for good is the best way to deal with this. Yes, I still have anxiety, but I have learned to manage it, and it can be managed in healthy ways, without medication.
Old 04-08-2011, 12:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)