Notices

I need help

Old 02-16-2011, 03:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I need help

I have been attempting to quit drinking on and off for four years now and the longest I have gone was 6 months. I haven't really quit at all and have been hiding heavy drinking for 4 months now from my family. I hate that I can control it when I know I will be seeing someone but when left to my own devices I break down every time. I won't tell my family that I started drinking again but I want to quit. I know everyone is going to say be honest but that is not an option because of financial consequences and consequences for my kids right now. I have no problem being honest when I get some time, but being honest right now will be detrimental. I want to quit but it is so hard. I feel like I am one of those hopeless cases. I guess I am looking for advice on how everyone got through the physical and mental agony and got to the other side. How do you get through the intense cravings and anxiety and irritability? How long does it last?
Old 02-16-2011, 03:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Hi, jersey,

(Love the name--I'm in NJ, myself). Can you get to an AA meeting? I was like you, desperately hiding the drinking. It's a heck of a burden on top of everything else.

I found that the withdrawal stage only lasted several days, though everyone's experience is a little different. If you have been drinking a lot, you'd be well advised to consult a doctor before quitting drinking abruptly.
Old 02-16-2011, 03:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

It's not easy to go through withdrawals under the best of circumstances, but if you are trying to hide it from your family that lives with you, it's going to be extremely hard. Not only that, abruptly stopping drinking can be very dangerous and it's not something that should be done alone and should preferably be done under a doctor's care.