Notices

Wanting to be a real person again

Old 11-08-2010, 12:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wanting to be a real person again

Hello everyone,

I am 24-year-old woman and I need help. I have been drinking alcoholically for over 4 years (the extremeness of my drinking developed very quickly), and I've long been at the point where I just feel hopeless and out of control. I know it sounds bad, but to be honest, my life has gotten to the point where drinking is the thing I most look forward to. I don't feel like a real person - more like a robot that is programmed to put on a public face and then get drunk in private as soon as possible.

I feel embarrassed even typing this, and part of it is because I can't accurately describe how completely drinking has taken over my life. It's hard to remember any other way of getting through the day. I know the mundaneness of my binge drinking would scare the typical, social drinker. But hiding my true habits to my friends and family has become second nature to me. Nobody knows how sick I really am.

I've read many of your posts, and I feel guilty talking about my problems which may sound shallow in comparison. But inwardly, I know I am dying in a very real way. I'm in that limbo place where I know I can't live this way anymore, but the thought of living without alcohol seems impossible. I live in a city and I've looked up some local AA meetings, which honestly scare the hell out of me. I'm sorry if this posting seems self-pitying. The bare facts are that I know I am sick and I need help. Getting better is not something that seems possible, but if it IS possible, I know it can only happen by reaching out. Left alone, I just continue to dig myself deeper.

Thanks for reading this, everyone. This site has been so valuable to me the last few months. Please know that all your support makes a difference, even to those who are just looking for some words of hope. I know I am.
Old 11-08-2010, 01:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator