Notices

Medications?

Old 10-21-2008, 03:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Medications?

Hey everyone, I asked on a different board, but thought I would throw this question out to you all too. My husbands blood alcohol level was .268, the test was done at the hospital. When I saw him 2 hours later he did not seem drunk at all. Can anxiety/antidepressant meds give a incorrect reading. Just wondering?
Old 10-21-2008, 03:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
I can't really answer that question from a medical standpoint, I'm not a doctor!

But I noticed you said he did not seem drunk at all.

From my experience when I was actively drinking, just the intensity of a situation sometimes "sobered" me up. I'm sure I wasn't physically sober, but I was probably behaving a little more normally. Two hours would be plenty of time for me to feel a lot less inebriated.
Old 10-21-2008, 04:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
To Thine Own Self Be True

Sounds like your husband has a pretty high tolerance, but that is not unheard of.
Was the test blood or breath?
I was told by an officer that the breathalyzer might read wrong (not crazy wrong, just off a little) depending on medications but that the blood test will give the correct reading no matter what was in my system. That is what the police told me the night of my DUI. I don't know that it is true or not..
Old 10-21-2008, 07:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thanks both of you for your responses. I suppose that situation would sober a person up, that makes sense. It was a blood test that he took, he figured it bought him a little more time.
Old 10-21-2008, 07:58 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
To Thine Own Self Be True

Yup, it probably bought him more time but if I were you, I would assume it was accurate. So now what are you going to do?
Old 10-22-2008, 03:29 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!