Notices

Relapsing

Old 06-26-2008, 07:11 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Relapsing

Hello All,

I've been in the rooms for a little while and here as well and also at a program at the VA. Something has been troubling me for a while now and I thought I would share it for your input.

I sit and listen to the many tales of relapse that I hear daily in the rooms, it's spoken of so matter of factly as if it's a badge of honor to have left the rooms because you "weren't quite done yet" and then returned to sobriety. It's spoken of so often it seems to me like it's almost like a required "check in the box" to true sobriety.

I'm relatively new at this and frankly, I don't want to relapse, I don't want to go through all of this again. So I was wondering if I could hear from those of you who didn't relapse, who worked their program and were successful the first time?

John
Old 06-26-2008, 07:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi John,

Thjanks for the thoughts. There recently was another thread about this topic, either here or over in 12 step. I am running out the door , can't find it this moment, but it was about a week or so back.
Old 06-26-2008, 07:40 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!

John I was the King of relapse before I became a full blown alcoholic, at that point alcohol owned me, mentally, physically, and even spiritually. I spent 5 years in full blown alcoholism, I hit my bottom spiritually soon after I surrendered to alcohol, I just gave up and decided to just drink all I wanted when ever I wanted and let the chips fall where they may.

I had a moment of clarity which showed me my future if I continued to drink, it ended in a slow painful death from alcoholism, it scared me silly, I saw a doctor, went through medical detox and then into AA and finally being able to admit that I had no idea how to stay sober I followed suggestions.