Notices

A question,very new to AA

Old 10-25-2003, 01:32 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A question,very new to AA

Hi everyone.

I am VERY new to AA, in fact 3 meetings , and 4 days sober, thats how new.

I see you all here mentioning " sponsers" What is the story ? How do you get one? and what part do they play ?

Must say, I am so glad I found these boards, I was having a panic attack this morning, and could not find a meeting I could get to, so have spent the day ( it is now 6:30pm) reading and absorbing , and being encouraged here, which has been fantastic !
Thank you all
Lee
Old 10-25-2003, 02:22 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Lee

A sponsor is a very important part of the recovery program.This is a person you can call on to talk one on one,and who will help guide you through learning to work the steps.

You'll want to get phone numbers at meetings so that you have people to talk with in between.At some point you will want to ask someone to sponsor you.Look for someone who is actively working the program,and who has some time sober.

It's best if men sponsor men,and women sponsor women.Beyond that, the choice of a sponsor is fairly simple.It's good to find someone you'll feel comfortable with,who has the time and willingness to work closely with you.Don't be discouraged if it takes a bit of time to find the right person.Just keep talking to people,and keep reaching out.You'll connect with someone.

Glad you're here,and don't hesitate to ask any questions you may have.Keep coming back

phoenix
Old 10-25-2003, 03:27 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you Pheonix,
I already have many phone numbers from the first 3 meetings I have been to. Also the the lady who rang me , after I first made contact , ( Wed morning) has been picking me up for meetings, ( no license) and ringing me almost twice a day , so I have been very Blessed !