New

Old 11-04-2003, 07:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

New

I am new to this whole thing. I am the adult child of 2..yes count them....2 alcoholics. My father began drinking when I was an infant. He then started hitting my mother. She left him when I was just under 3 yrs old and never heard from him again. I take that back he showed up on our doorstep when I was 13 and passed out while I was talking to him. He then tried calling me when I was about 20. Haven't heard from him since.
My mother has always had issues. For as long as I can remember she was depressed or anxious. She has always been a binge drinker and has now progressed to drinking non-stop. She was addicted to drugs when I was in my early teens. I have been a couple of foster and group homes. We lived out of your car for awhile as well. I finally got my own apartment and moved out when Iw as just under 16. I figured I could do better on my own....which I did.
I moved to Ohio last year and am now dealing with my mom with 2600+ miles between us. She has family there but they are not help. She has been told she is bipolar and also that she needs to quit drinking. They want to admit her into an inpatient treatment center but her new insurance hasn't processed her yet...been 2 months.
Needless to say..she quit her job and has been drinking for about 4 days straight now. She calls me angry, yelling, crying..sobbing..begging for help. I don't know what to do. I don't know what I can do. I told her to go to AA or some sort of support group until she could get admitted...not good enough. It has to be all or nothing for her.
I know I shouldn't feel this way but...in a way I feel like it is my fault because I moved. On the otherside...I wish she would just go away. Then there is the "I want to help" because I love her and she is all I have.

How do you all deal with this? I have tried therapy..didn't help. I am currently on Celexa as well.