Notices

How to determine if you are alcoholic

Old 05-23-2015, 06:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to determine if you are alcoholic

The phenomena of craving. I found that this was interesting.

Old 05-24-2015, 10:45 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Oh boy I had about 15 reasons I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt I was an alcoholic. The biggest reason was drinking after a health diagnosis. I continued in spite of any and all consequences.
Old 05-25-2015, 09:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I think drinking in spite of all and any circumstances is probably another good indicator, although I'm not an expert.

I drank through a lot of things myself. Namely the last two decades in an exponential fashion. I never considered myself to be potentially alcoholic.

It's just a short clip but I never thought about it in that way myself. Or very much at all until I joined here actually. I imagined all people who drank experienced cravings for it.
Old 05-25-2015, 09:40 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Grateful

I was pretty sure I was an alcoholic when I kept drinking despite the consequences. When it reached the point that I wanted to quit but couldn't there was no doubt about it in my mind.
Old 05-25-2015, 01:41 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I definitely had the phenomenon of craving.

The second tasted better than the first......up to like the sixth. There was a sense of urgency for each consecutive drink. The need for the 12th was as urgent as the second.

Another interesting phenomenon I'd be curious to hear about from you guys is how I felt more agitated stopping after three beers (and could NOT get anymore) than if I had zero.

Even six left me craving more, more so than if I had drank zero. If it wasn't 12 it left me more angry than I guess none would have made me, although I have very few examples of not having any, up until I stopped. Thoughts?
Old 05-25-2015, 05:27 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
12 Step Recovered Alcoholic