27 Days Sober and Counting...

Old 02-19-2014, 10:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile 27 Days Sober and Counting...

27 days today I am sober. What got me to stop drinking? A couple of things. I was a daily drinker for the last 2 years. In the last year, it escalated to drinking before work, at lunch and of course in the evenings. I drank alone. It got so intense, that I would be sitting in a meeting at work thinking please let lunch hour arrive so I can jump in my car and get to the nearest restaurant to drink my lunch. As a manager, I could take a two hour lunch or simply not come back and call it a 'sales call.' I hid bottles everywhere, under my bed, in my car trunk, in dresser drawers, in my briefcase. Sometimes I even poured an entire drink into my coffee mug, shut my office door and drank.

Some days I would be relieved that I must have been so drunk that I had forgotten I hid a bottle of something because I would be reaching into my dresser drawer for a shirt and pull out a bottle of whatever I may have hidden even from myself apparently.

31 days ago I went on a 3 day binge where I drank any and everything - I began drinking due to an acrimonious and long drawn out divorce battle 5 years ago - I remember drinking a few shots of Belvedere during the day to 'take the edge off' but all it would take would be my divorce lawyer's phone number showing up on my phone and I would reach for the bottle. I could feel anxiety stab like a knife. I failed to mention my ex and I lived together during our divorce battle which took 3 years, we would go to court and trash each other, but unlike most divorcing couples, return to the same dwelling after court as if that hearing that day didn't take place! I would drink to be numb by the time he got home. Eventually I would drink before a court hearing - and the Judge never knew it or didn't care. By that time I didn't either. Drinking was my escape, my way of stifling the fear and anxiety.