Cross Addictions

Old 02-05-2009, 08:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Cross Addictions

I have been attending 12-Steps groups off-and-on for 14 years, but what I need ... indeed, what I believe this area needs ... is a 12-Step Group for Cross-Addictions. There are many of us who need Al-Anon, CoDA, OA, et al. who cannot make that many meetings in one week. Also, at 12 Step Meetings, it is suggested not to talk about other 12-Step groups. I.E., people at Al-Anon cannot talk about OA, etc.

Can you please steer me in the right direction? What materials would I need? I'd like the Cross-Addictions Group to meet 2x a week; one would be a Step/Traditions Meeting; the other would be a Discussion Meeting.
Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated. I live in Cumberland County (NJ) and, except for AA Groups, 12-step groups are limited here.

thanks,
diane

Last edited by DreamBeliever13; 02-05-2009 at 08:56 AM. Reason: colors
Old 02-05-2009, 06:40 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Diane,

Here is a link that might help.

Questions and Answers about DRA
Old 02-06-2009, 07:28 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello Diane, It is not uncommon to need more than one support program because a relative or friend has multiple issues. In terms of Al-Anon, I have found that alcoholism or problem drinking goes with everything--drugs, sex addiction, gambling, eating too much, eating too little, overspending. So, it is hard to go to all of those meetings due to work and home lives. Once I got the focus on myself instead of the drinker, I was able to fit in a lot more things that I needed to do for myself like attending Al-Anon!

You are in luck with Al-Anon. There are on-line and telephone meetings. that can supplement your attendance of face to face meetings. So, e-mail [email protected] for a list of meetings and contact information.

I hope this helps you.
Old 02-10-2009, 04:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)