Notices

Can one quit cocaine cold turkey??

Old 06-02-2005, 09:36 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can one quit cocaine cold turkey??

My boyfriend uses coke. I've confronted him on more than several occasions and he continues to lie and use and lie. He said he's not a "heavy" user and that I just don't understand because I've never used before. He said he can go cold turkey and be fine. I still notice the runny, bloody nose but he excuses it as his sinus "cleaning and clearing" itself out. He even accuses me of manufacturing problems to start arguments with him. He fiercely defends the "friend" who sells him the coke. When I mention going to meetings and reading postings on this site, he deliberately stays late at work to avoid it.

It pains me tremendously to see him continuing to make such bad choices and moving on this path of self-destruction. I sense myself slowly pulling away from him because it just hurts too much to have the knowledge that he's destroying his life and I'm completely powerless to help. On one hand, I don't want to give up on him. If I was in his situation, I'd hope that someone would be patience and exhaust every possible effort to reach out to me instead of just giving up and walking away. However, I think that I cannot help pull someone up if he insists on staying in the hole and not making the appropriate effort to climb up.