Notices

Drunk at the keyboard

Old 05-23-2005, 04:31 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Drunk at the keyboard

Hello, I'm new here.

I've been drinking on and off for just over two years now. It started with a few shots of Baileys every weekend, then it became a few shots every night, until eventually it was a litre bottle.

I'm a shy, very anxious person - and I loved the confidence alcohol gave me. I also loved the way it seemed to make things flow for me: I was like a writer with writer's block, and alcohol would melt that block away.

I know I need to stop drinking. It's been nearly a litre of vodka every night the last two weeks - interspersed with shots sporadically during the day. I'm beginning to become physically ill. But I wonder how I can exist without alcohol - it enables me to do things I cannot do sober.

It's like a medication.

Does anyone else understand these feelings?

Thank you for reading.
Old 05-23-2005, 04:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Midnightstarboy,

Welcome!

I loved the confidence alcohol gave me too because I suffer from anxiety as well and it was so nice to be able to feel comfortable in a group. But, for me the comfortable period didn't last long and very quickly escalated to alcoholism. I used alcohol to self-medicate and ended up with a double problem.

I was also afraid to stop drinking because, after 3 years of drinking a lot, I didn't know what was left for me. But, I found that there was lots out there that was waiting for me life is so much better now. As far as doing the things that I felt I could not do sober - I don't go out in social situations so much anymore, that's a decision I made to take care of myself. In fact, I try to not do anything that I don't want to do and I find that it's much easier to get through the day, than when I used to take on a lot of things I didn't really care about or want to do. In other words, I kind of changed my life from the bottom up. You can do this too an we're here to help.

Anna