Notices

Loneliness

Old 11-07-2022, 04:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Loneliness

One thing I'm really struggling with at the moment is loneliness.
Drinking always helped me feel comfortable being alone. It's strange as by most it's used as a social drug but for me I loved being alone. Quite often I'd enjoy sitting in a pub alone and watching the world go by.
I've felt really sad the past few days. I've not felt quite so sad for a while. I know drinking would be a horrible trade off as I do feel it would help with the loneliness but I know all the hell it would bring with it. So I don't intend to drink.
Sometimes I would want to be social and drinking at the pub has always opened doors for me as I've got a lot of life experience and am an open person. I'd meet people who would offer me jobs, invite me out on trips, to parties, tell me great stories, offer assistance with projects I have going on etc. Without alcohol a lot of that won't happen anymore. I have quite bad social anxiety but with alcohol all that would go away.

I have no intention of drinking but the feeling of loneliness is hurting and worrying me. I had chronic depression in my 20's. That finally got resolved throughout my early 30's and if it ever came back I don't think I could do it all again. These feelings remind me too much of that time.
I've seen friends this weekend and enjoyed myself but the feelings haven't been diminished by those interactions.
I guess I just need to be patient and understand this is all part of the early process of being sober.
I wanted to voice my feelings and be honest that the temptation to fantasize about drinking, to alleviate these feelings is there right now.
Thanks
Old 11-07-2022, 07:29 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator