Notices

18 days in - Maybe this time..

Old 01-16-2021, 05:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

18 days in - Maybe this time..

Hello all the good people on SR! I’m Skinny from California.
I’ve been sober now since Dec. 30, in my mid-40s.. been a heavy drinker for 20 years or so.
12-pack a day until I started to add whiskey in the mix last year.

I’m a performing musician, or was rather.. COVID stopped that. Enter the tailspin.
Managed to abstain for a few days here and there but that’s all. Until after last Christmas.
I started to feel my body collapse and the heart pounding all day got unbearable.
Doctor prescribed a weeks worth of diazepam and it helped with withdrawal.

So here I am. 18 days. Feel fine physically and have even started to do some brisk walking.
But there’s emptiness inside. I’m married with a son and it’s all good but the lockdown is hard. Time crawls and every day blends into the next.

Just wanted to introduce myself. I hope to spend a lot of time here. Have a good rest of your weekend and stay strong. Best to everyone.
Old 01-16-2021, 05:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi SkinnyPete. That is a great start. 18 days - there is so much healing taking place. The lockdown has been so challenging for so many. I think people have really struggled in their sobriety. I have a real life group I go to each week. The last 10 months we've met on Zoom and 6 or 7 out of a dozen or so have had some slips and relapses in 2020. I do think we all need to make sure we have the tools to stay sober, come what may. But 2020 really put all that to the test. I hope you stay on your healthy road.
Old 01-16-2021, 05:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Nice to meet you SkinnyPete and congrats on 18 days!
Old 01-16-2021, 05:29 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome aboard pete

18 days is a good start bit it may take a little longer for the empty feeling to go...alcohol really does a number on our bodies and minds and all that takes time to heal..we do heal tho

D