Notices

Hello... I'm new here.

Old 11-23-2004, 02:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello... I'm new here.

This is my first post. After talking with my doctor today, and have been dealing with depression and binge drinking for the last four years, my doc and I agreed that I am an alcoholic today.

I don't drink everyday, or crave a drink, but when I go out with my buddies or friends (2-3 days a week), I can't just have 2-3 beers, nope, I can't stop and will continue till I'm plastered, every time! This has been going on for about 4 years, ever since I graduated from college, had my fiance leave me, and then, more recently, losing my IT job 3 months ago. Because of all this, I've become very depressed, and have fallen way out of shape, I used to race mountain bikes competitively, and was very successful.

I know I get drunk to escape the depression, and the bad feelings, but only end of feeling worse after doing so.

I'm glad I found this forum on the web, and look forward to participating, and reading and learning more about this illness. Hopefully I can find some help here, as well as lend a hand to others too.
Old 11-23-2004, 02:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
NOT EVEN 1 CLUB!!

Hey jdx!! Welcome to SR!! You will find a lot of experience, strength, and hope here!! It takes a lot of courage to admit you are an alcoholic. Congratulations on making that desicion. Only you can decide that, the doctor just agreed with you!!

Hang in there! Life gets better!
Hugs,
Missy
Old 11-23-2004, 02:55 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi JD.