Notices

Naltrexone - Have you tried it? Has it helped?

Old 11-27-2017, 10:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Baa

Naltrexone - Have you tried it? Has it helped?

I've recently seen a YouTube video by Claudia Christian and I haven't been able to stop watching it.

If you want to watch it, it is on YouTube and search Ted Talk Alcoholic / how I overcame alcoholism.

I've ordered a month supply of low-dose naltrexone and am wondering if anyone here has experience with it. I'm a binge drinker and would like to try and have a baby but need to get this under complete control first, for obvious reasons. I'll update this post once my ldn comes in to let you know how it is working. Please post about your experiences if you've ever used it.
Old 11-27-2017, 03:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Baa - welcome

I have no experience myself.

I do suggest you run this by a doctor beforehand tho - even if just to rule out any interaction with existing meds or health problems.

You find a few threads around about using naltrexone in an abstinence based programme.

I see you namechecked Claudia Christian.

I really can't recommend any programmes that promise you 'safer drinking' through naltrexone.

I believe that any amount of drinking is self destructive for a drinker like me.

It is inappropriate to promote the use of alcohol or drugs on our addiction recovery forums, so those kinds of programmes are off topic here anyway.

Dee
SR
Old 11-27-2017, 06:57 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I watched that today and for me, personally. I was frightened!!!!!
Really, I drug I could take so I'm able to drink again? Lose my sobriety time for a chance to drink? Possibly go back to where I was? Take a pharmaceutical with side effects?

Oh man.. Not for me.

Her story was sad, and I was hoping for an ending without a crutch, but to each their own.

My recovery 0ath includes complete abstinence from alcohol!

I also read the threads here about it after watching the video, and I seen mixed reviews.