Notices

What do you do when you realize your dreams are dead?

Old 05-28-2016, 11:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What do you do when you realize your dreams are dead?

When I quit drinking the first time, it was because I had found my passion in life, and I tried to build a career based on that. I pretty much destroyed the dream through drinking and drug use during a particularly stressful year. I was a molecular biologist, so there is always a lot of pressure to meet deadlines, go to meetings, secure grants, form relationships with the right people, etc. Anyway, my drinking got out of hand, and I pretty much destroyed any chances of getting a positive reference. I got another job at an engineering firm, but I got fired for drinking at work all the time.

Anyway, I'm pretty much done being a scientist. I don't know what to do now. My best friend who died was in the same position, but he's gone now. I feel as though I'm stagnating. I don't know how to rebuild. I think I'm just going to become that drunken ******* whose life got torn apart by stress and mental illness. I just have no motivation at all anymore.
Old 05-28-2016, 11:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I don't feel like other people. Other people never accepted me, it's a lonely place. Science was all I had, and I killed that dream.
Old 05-28-2016, 11:51 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
NA Member - Atheist

Well you could do what Marc Lewis did (read memoirs of an addicted brain). Destroyed his career in the sciences and built another one in another branch of science anyway.
Old 05-28-2016, 11:52 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Mini Novel Post Writer

HI Vulturine. I'm only assuming that your picture is you and you look young. You would be surprised how many companies will take a second look at people who have problems with alcohol as long as the situation is being addressed. You don't think that if you turned it around that there would be a way back in?
Old 05-28-2016, 12:12 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Hi vulturine