Notices

Something's wrong

Old 02-22-2015, 09:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Something's wrong

I don't know if my job is the primary life-sucking force behind whatever's going on in my head lately, but it is certainly a contributor. I had a terrible shift yesterday. Part of it was the workload (I'm a cook for a very busy restaurant and my list of things to prepare was enormous). I tend to get pretty discouraged when I arrive at work to discover there's more to prepare than there is time. I've also only been in this particular position for about two months, so I'm still learning recipes and such. I have a solid work ethic and put everything I have into my work, but I do it through battles with depression, anxiety, fibromyalgia, and alcoholism recovery, so 'everything I have' may not be...enough? Anyway, I've worked for this company for 3 years and have a tendency to tie my worth to my work. So because of how overwhelmed I felt yesterday, I decided my life was without purpose and I had little to no value. And I wanted a drink (or several). I didn't cave to the drink-wanting, but was left with the knowledge that tying my sense of worth to what this particular job expects of me is absurd and dangerous. Still felt crappy and lost, but I understand why. Needless to say, the search for a new job is on.