Notices

Day 3

Old 01-20-2015, 11:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Until It Sleeps

Day 3

This is my first time reaching out about really wanting to quit drinking. I am 41 and have been a drinker since I was 18. I have stopped before to get in shape in 03' for almost 2yrs. Then as recent as this past summer I made it 64 days after my wife and I got into it. Both of us drunk at the time. She rarely drinks, but I drink nightly 3 weeks out of 4 when I am not on call rotation at work. My 64 day sobriety ended when I found out she had spent about 5k on CC over the past year, mostly to please me. I started drinking again, but this time instead of beer I have been drinking scotch because I didnt want the beer cals, I was in shape again at 178lbs. Had a big binge Fri night and I felt Sat like I could die, drank the whole bottle until 6am. I can't do it anymore, dont want to. My wife and I are really great and put things together, been together 20yrs, DD in college, DS in high school. Its day 3 because I am on rotation now so it will be at least Monday before I could drink. I can feel the damage it has done to me psychologically and spiritually. Right now I have a lot of anxiety, I want this time to make it stick, my wife knows, and that's it, mainly because no one really know how much I drink. Always drink at home, many times alone do to our schedule. This is the first time I have admitted I am an alcoholic.
Old 01-20-2015, 11:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome myshadow -- don't think of it as three days before you can drink again - NO NO NO!

think of it as the beginning of never having to drink again, no need to drink on Monday.
Old 01-20-2015, 11:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Sobriety is Traditional

Read around and post often! Most communities have AA and Al Anon meetings to help alcoholics and their families. I found meetings to be very helpful.
Old 01-20-2015, 12:00 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome, MyShadow, to SR.