Notices

For the Lurkers Out There From a Fellow Lurker

Old 11-28-2014, 11:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

For the Lurkers Out There From a Fellow Lurker

As you can see from my signup date, I've been on (and off) this site since 2009. I'm on my 3rd or 4th good go around with sobriety, the only meaningful length of time before was 8 mos. I'm only at a little over two now, but it feels more solid than any other attempt.

I was a lurker through all that, rarely posting while sober, and staying many gigabytes away from this site while drinking. I'm not a prolific poster now, but I put myself out there a bit more, and definitely check in MUCH more frequently than during previous sober periods.

I feel like that has made all the difference for me this time. Engaging myself in these threads a bit more, and being here every day is such a reinforcement. I admire those that put their struggles out here - rather than just ducking away as I did when I was drinking. I wonder if I had had the nerve to post "Day 1 Again" if I might have saved myself a couple years or more of misery.

So if lurking is your style, as it is mine, try to lurk every day. And if you can involve yourself at your own comfort level, I think you might find a different level of commitment taking you over.

I'm a bit shy about relating all my drunken foibles yet, but it is enpowering to see you aren't alone, and to give a sincere sigh of relief when someone here has overcome temptation or found the professional help they need. If nothing else, it's harder to find an excuse to drink after that, that's for sure.

Earlyriser
Old 11-28-2014, 12:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)