Notices

Completed Day 2

Old 09-30-2014, 09:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Completed Day 2

This is my first time joining a community, support group, or really making <strike>an effort</strike> the decision to become a non drinker.

I don't want to go into detail about my past just yet. I don't like thinking of the pain, lost opportunities, and feelings resulting from my drinking. I also feel like I will end up writing several paragraphs(with many digressions) remembering the last few years.

I'll start with this: For the most part, I have been drinking for the last ten years of my life. I drink impulsively and in excess. I don't have that "off" switch. I don't make the association that drinking is bad. Drinking can kill me/others. Drinking can hurt me/others. I just..don't care? If that makes sense. I'm not saying I don't want to live, but I just don't want to think of the consequences(Having reread that I just realized I do have a problem with responsibility). While I do enjoy the flavor of some cocktails and beers, I had come to just chug my drinks. I enjoyed shutting my mind up. I became accustomed to it. I was not used to living with my mind and I'm still not. Overtime, it became almost a daily activity and something I eventually had to hide from family, friends, co-workers. I feel very fortunate that I have not had any extreme repercussions, but, of course, extreme is a relative term. Like many of us, I've had those "ughh I'm not drinking for a while" mornings, but as soon as my body recovered(it could be as early as that night) I'd be back at it. I'm not getting any younger and I do not want to lose any more opportunities.