Notices

I'm new.

Old 09-05-2014, 01:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new.

Hello everyone, I just made an account. I'm in a situation that if I don't stop drinking my husband will probably leave me. I feel hopeless and alone, and am glad I found a place to talk to other people who may understand. I've been drinking for 10 years, and I'm 26 years old. I rely on alcohol to enjoy the situation I'm in and too relax. Without it I'm a grumpy mess. I really want to change my outlook on life and be able to live my life without this crutch that makes everything worse in the end. I wish I knew how to go about changing the way I think. I'm looking forward to reading other people's posts, and trying to help. I don't feel like I have emotions anymore. I lie to myself even in order to drink. What is going on? My husband thinks I don't love him and that alcohol is more important then he is. I don't want to put him through any more of this
Old 09-05-2014, 01:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey drunkfish and welcome to SR, you're in the right place

You certainly aren't alone in your fears, I was in the same situation with my ex partner and ultimately continued to drink/lie, ended up completely ruining it.

From my bouts of sobriety it really is so much easier than living whilst drinking. I don't have the stress of hangovers and where my next drink will come from now, I've found myself much less anxious.

Wish you all the best
Old 09-05-2014, 04:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to the Forum!!

You'll find loads of support here on SR!! Great to have you onboard!!
Old 09-05-2014, 04:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to the familly
Old 09-06-2014, 04:56 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

hi and welcome. thanks for your post, i could relate to many of the feelings and situations that you described.