Notices

First real test coming up. Scared.

Old 08-21-2014, 05:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

First real test coming up. Scared.

Tomorrow will mark day 5. It will also be a first time I know there will be temptation. Every Friday afternoon from spring to fall, I've been playing golf with two other guys for last 3 years. I consider them friends but, don't really know them outside of golf. At any rate, we always drink when we golf. Usually about 3 or 4 beers each. Often, I had been showing up already drunk on 1/2 pint of vodka, but they don't know that. They don't know that I'm an alcoholic.

I'm sure they will bring beer and offer me some as usual. The routine has been. One guy brings a six pack, I buy a round at the turn. The other guy buys a round from a cart girl in the back nine if there is one. It's always been that way.

What do I do? What do I say? I've been thinking about some options.

1. Lie and say, I went to the doctors and my liver numbers were not good. I need to take a break from alcohol.

2. Lie and say, my stomach don't feel so good today. I'll pass.

3. Tell them, I've decided to quit drinking.

4. Tell them the truth, I'm an alcoholic and I've decided to quit drinking.

What do you guys, think? #1 was what came to my mind first.

pakman
Old 08-21-2014, 06:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Pakman92,

Full disclosure, I'm new to this! But just upon reading, I say go with #1? I know honesty is the best policy, but do you want to go into a long discussion/story just yet?