Notices

Try again?

Old 07-05-2014, 08:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Try again?

Hello. At the end of last year I decided it was time to get sober, I had had enough. I had been drinking almost every day for twenty years and the depression in isolation was getting unbearable. Being stuck in the Midwest during the middle of winter wasn't helping. I felt I was ready and decided to hit a meeting . I went to two meetings a day for thirty days. I was feeling better, had a sponsor and a few sober friends. On day 31 without an internal argument with myself I stopped and got some beer. It was really depressing as well as relieving. I felt as though all of my energy was revolving around trying not to drink where as just drinking was easier, less stressful. Has anyone else been dealing with this situation? Any advice would be much appreciated.
Old 07-05-2014, 08:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi DJSid, I did not experience this but it does not strike me as crazy. Were you working the steps? What sorts of other changes had you made in your life? Are you ready to try again? What will you do differently this time?

I am glad you are here. You did 30 days before; you can do 30 days (and a lot more) now!
Old 07-05-2014, 08:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

Originally Posted by DJSid View Post
I felt as though all of my energy was revolving around trying not to drink where as just drinking was easier, less stressful.
Of course drinking is easier. But if you don't think you are expending a lot of energy to maintain your addiction, think again.
Old 07-05-2014, 08:39 PM
  # 4 (permalink)