Notices

Sobering a scientist

Old 05-03-2014, 05:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobering a scientist

Hi,

just thought I would write a quick intro and explain what brought me here.

I cant really remember the first time I had a drink but it was definitely becoming a problem by the time I was 16. At the time vodka was our poison of choice, myself and the girlfriend would sit in watching TV and knocking back vodka like it was going out of fashion.

I did an adequate job at school and attended a prestigious university, my drinking became more intense but my grades remained acceptable and I was appointed to lead chapters of societies and industry based institutes. Everyone knew I drank alot but I don't think anyone saw it as a problem, then again few would see me stumbling home in the early hours. Due to my success in university and a desire to lead finding a job was easy and I began working in oil exploration. I thought as a professional my drinking would now calm down, it didn't, the job thrives on alcohol.

My desire to quit is simply to become a better man and to improve my health, to date I have lead a fairly hedonistic lifestyle and I realise this can't last forever. Reading over this post it makes it sound like drinking hasn't been a problem, it has been but I've always been happy/ignorant enough to ignore those issues.

My aim is to give up completely, doing something in moderation simply isnt in my nature, I don't expect it to be easy in fact I suspect it will be one of the most difficult challenges in my life.

This was a pointless post but writing it down makes it real.
Old 05-03-2014, 06:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)