Notices

Tired of living a life of embarrassment and paranoia

Old 03-29-2014, 07:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Tired of living a life of embarrassment and paranoia

Hi, this is my first post here. This is my first time acknowledging that I need to stop drinking because it is making my life unlivable.

I have extreme social anxiety and issues with paranoia when it comes to social situations and other people. I always think that people are talking about me, thinking about me, laughing at me, and I make situations much bigger in my head.

Mix this with drinking and it has been a living hell for the past year. Every weekend I go to the bars, get drunk, and wake up the next morning full of shame and embarrassment. For days after a night out I play the events back in my head-what I said, to who-and what these people must be thinking about me.

I work at a place in my town that most people go to regularly. I see these people at the bars too. This past Wednesday night I was at the bar and ran into some regulars from my work. Well I drank with them all night and now I am afraid to go to work today because I know I will see them. I'm so ashamed of what I might have said, acted like, and what they must think of me. No doubt they think I'm crazy. I had to take a xanax to calm my nerves or else I probably wouldn't even go to work.

It's this that make me realize that it needs to stop. My alcohol problem has only been going on for the past year and I guess some part of me has always thought that it was just temporary. But temporary or not, it ends now. I'm tired of feeling like this before work or before going out to the store. I know I'm not thinking rationally at all but that is my problem-and drinking is doing nothing to help me get better from social anxiety and paranoia.