Notices

Enough already...

Old 02-17-2014, 03:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Enough already...

I found this site looking for meetings and thought I'd introduce myself. I've been drinking for many years, probably in the last 10, pretty much everyday. I've managed to isolate myself, and drink at home.....wine, lots of it.

My job became virtual about 10 years ago and I believe this is when it just got worse. I'm alienating friends, the few I've even bothered to stay in contact with and they are strained as well. I'm alienating my daughter, who's 18 now and she is losing respect for me. I don't believe she even thinks its the wine I'm drinking that causes the issues. She just thinks I'm bat **** crazy at times. I never know if I'll be the happy wino or the angry one. I'm not "stumbling around, slurring words" drunk but drunk just the same. I just feel like a failure all around.

Yesterday I felt confident about going to an AA meeting tonight but now I'm scared. I do want to go but think even they'd see how damaged I am and not want any part of me.

The weird thing is nothing tragic has happened, I'm just so disappointed in myself and what my life has become. I work, then drink. I'm avoiding going out and seeing people in any situation. Sometimes even going to to grocery store gives me anxiety. I feel as if I've lost any lust for life, so I drink wine to take the pain and boredom away. I look around and see everyone living and enjoying their life and its almost as if I think I don't deserve it.

Anyway, sorry for such a long post and the whining. I'm hoping for this day to be one without wine. Hoping to be a better person one day.
Old 02-17-2014, 03:16 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Kaleidoscope eyes

It's good that you have made this decision without anything tragic happening first so kudos to you for that. Meetings are fit to burst with damaged or once damaged people so I wouldn't worry about that at all xxxxxx
Old 02-17-2014, 03:20 AM
  # 3 (permalink)