Notices

Once again

Old 02-02-2014, 09:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Once again

I think I'm actually at the point now where I can believe that I am powerless over my drinking. I certainly don't have any control over it - once I start, I stop only when I'm very, very drunk. What has bothered me is that I come off to some as "functional", I have a graduate degree and a job, etc. But I certainly don't see myself that way. I know that if I was sober, I would be a lot happier and very likely in a better financial position.

Anyway, I'm posting here because I'm wondering what it takes to actually get to the point where you do admit that you are powerless over your addiction. Is this something you learn gradually or does it hit you all at once? I mean, I woke up this morning feeling incredibly bad from a hangover (again) but I see myself as easily being able to convince myself to drink again. At 2:00 I will go to an AA meeting for the first time in almost a year, hopefully that will help me at least believe that recovery is possible, but I'm still struggling (somehow) with the notion that I powerless over this even though the evidence certainly suggests that I am.
Old 02-02-2014, 10:32 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

I don't remember my "ah ha" moment. I just know that deep down inside I was sick and tired of my life and wanted to change it.

Recovery is most definitely possible. I thought I was a hopeless drunk but now I've got over four years sober. So put down the bottle and pick up a better life.
Old 02-02-2014, 11:21 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

i have been there so many times ... waking up feeling bad about my choice to drink too much (again) ... telling myself i need to stop doing this and committing to not drinking that day ... and then somehow talking myself into wine with lunch or dinner and repeating the whole cycle