Notices

How normal can we be

Old 11-24-2013, 12:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How normal can we be

Can any one help me respond to a question that I have :?: Husband wants a normal life with a person in recovery ... How normal can we be !!! I always feel I am out of whack.
Old 11-24-2013, 12:24 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Well, I think I'm normal.

What exactly does your husband mean by normal?
Old 11-24-2013, 12:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

just it I do not know what he means by normal either !! I am an alcoholic I know that .. greatest fear is being inadequate ... I am more fear of the darkness then our day at least I can see in the day light lol ...
Old 11-24-2013, 12:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

How long have you been sober? I am still learning a bit about this myself. I mean, it used to be normal for me to drink a 12 pack a night. If you are still getting used to being sober maybe he is wondering when quitting will not be so strong in your mind and habits right now. I would like to know that as well :p
Old 11-24-2013, 12:50 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I relapse after 5yrs in 2011 was in hospital over the holidays I was drinking about a 5th myself a day been sober ever since trying to go strong ever since. Holidays are bad for me I just hate them any more but put on a smile and keep going. my opinion is he feels helpless and can not fix me ...
Old 11-24-2013, 12:59 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Do you mean he's not happy with your recovery? It sounds like you're doing well.
Old 11-24-2013, 12:59 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Damn he should be really proud of you, congrats on being sober since 2011!!

Does he expect you to be a "normal drinker" or something? Or just to not be stressed or anxious around the holidays? Because I think those are unreasonable expectations. Obviously you can't ever be a normal drinker if you're an alcoholic, but also it's pretty "normal" to have stress around the holidays, not just for people with addictions, but all people, lol.