Notices

Progress rather than perfection

Old 11-06-2013, 03:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile Progress rather than perfection

Ahh I feel pretty content right now I've been thinking today about my recovery, and though I don't have the "perfect program" (if there is even such a thing) I seem to be making some progress.

Like yesterday, regardless of my fear of socializing with people my age(part of my aspergers) , I forced myself to go to a young persons NA meeting with my sponsor and I absolutely LOVED it. I ignored my social awkwardness and immediately made it my homegroup.. yaay I finally have a homegroup that I like, AND it's close to my house.

And I've been getting better and better at picking up the phone when I'm feeling screwed up. I've been calling my sponsor every single day, even when I don't want to. And I'm reaching out to other people too, which I've NEVER done before, such as my sponsee brothers, my grand-sponsor, and other people in the program. I find it's getting easier and easier the more I do it and although it's still not completely comfortable, it really does help. For example; today I started getting into a funk, kind of felt like using, and without thinking and I peaked into my moms purse and found more than $80 and my disease/AV immediately started talking: "Awe man 80 bucks!? Take the money and ride the bus downtown, go to the west side and cop some dope, it'll be fun!".. I was tempted but I immediately got on the phone and talked to my sponsor, and then another recovering addict and I felt less insane and more serene. And I know I made a bad decision even snooping through my mom's purse, but I followed it up with a good decision by not acting on those thoughts and talking about it.

I wake up early every morning and read the Just For Today NA Daily Meditation and read a chapter from my basic text. I'm also working Step 1 of the Twelve Steps of NA.