Notices

The binges are over.

Old 10-22-2013, 08:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The binges are over.

I've never been a 'traditional' alcoholic, which is why I allowed this to go on so long.

It started during college when I busted my tail during the week, but Friday and/or Saturday night, I went as hard as someone can go. I was a great student, went on to get a great job, etc. No one has any idea that I have this problem.

I'm in my late-20s now, and don't go out all that often anymore after moving to a new town. I'm able to have a casual beer with dinner, and I have gone out on a work night exactly one time in my professional life.

But of the 6 or 7 times I've gone 'out' drinking with friends over the past five months on weekends, four of them have ended in complete blackout, hate-the-world hangovers.

The last one happened on Sunday, October 20, when I spent 3 hours in the emergency room after I was separated from my group, and passed out on the patio of a bar. At 2:30 a.m., the bar staff checked on me and said that I seemed well enough to get a cab when I felt up to it.

When they locked up the bar at 4 a.m., they said that I had vomited on myself and they were forced to call for EMS. They didn't feel comfortable calling a cab, though I was somewhat responsive.

A Sunday morning hangover doesn't have the impact of waking up in a hospital. It might not have been my worst binge, but I'm committed to it being the last.

Looking forward to talking with you all, and getting through this.
Old 10-22-2013, 08:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

October20

you are among friends and thousands of people know exactly also what has gone on with you and drinking.

Keep reading and posting.

SR, along with AA, Alanon, and RET, has helped me learn a new way of life...

For me, being an addict and alcoholic, I can not use alcohol nor drugs safely. I experienced blackouts, 911 calls.

I've had many periods of clean time and sobriety...and would not live any other way....