Notices

An Introduction

Old 10-08-2013, 12:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

An Introduction

Hello all! I'm so glad I found this forum, it's extremely encouraging to read all the posts and know that I am not alone in my fight against this addiction.

A little about me: I've been drinking every night for the last 14 years, minus a few times when I quit for a day or two. I was in denial for many years until several years ago I finally realized I had a problem. I would try to quit but could not stop for long due to the crazy irrational thoughts that would convince me to drink. Over the last year I have developed debilitating anxiety and depression. I would wake up in the night in cold sweats with my mind racing a million beats per minute. I have finally decided to stop for good.

Today is day 5 and I feel great, it's also my 32nd birthday today. I'm going out to dinner with family and friends tonight which will be the first time I will be around alcohol and other people drinking since I've stopped. They don't know I quit, and frankly they don't know I've had a problem. I've hidden it quite well over the years.

Wish me luck tonight that I won't be tempted to drink. Well, I'm sure I will be tempted...but I won't give in!
Old 10-08-2013, 01:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Simka - welcome to SR
Old 10-08-2013, 01:19 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Good luck Simka and welcome. I also had really bad anxiety/panic issues in the last stages of my drinking, it does get better - you've made a great choice. I personally chose to come clean with my immediate family right off the bat when I quit so it was a little easier for me being around them ( several of whom are heavy drinkers ), but it's not 100 percent necessary of course. Stay strong tonight, and give yourself the best birthday present you can - a sober day!
Old 10-08-2013, 01:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR and Happy Birthday Simka