Notices

Devil vs. Angel shoulder debate

Old 05-28-2004, 02:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Smile Devil vs. Angel shoulder debate

Hi!
I am so glad I found this site today! I've been drinking for about 20 years of and on. The past year my "on" has been auto pilot and I crashed. I haven't had a drink in 13 days and aside from some headaches,some desires for a cold one (which always leads to 12 or more) and some grouchy attitudes, I'm hanging in there. I've been taking it one day at a time, which can seem like an awfully long day sometimes! Today was the hardest day so far. My husband is still drinking and the sight of beer brought back old desires. I thought I was going to go insane! I was trying to distract myself and was going to leave the house to walk around antique shops but my gut told me to stay put and fight it, to many local watering holes on the way. I paced around with what seemed to be my whole body shaking and stressed and me getting very agitated with myself wondering why I couldn't drink just a couple and be done with them like other people do. I was really wanting to sit out by that pool with him like I used to and share an icy beer, but I knew at this turning point in my life it is and will be detrimental. I knew I needed to talk to someone who would understand, but I haven't been to AA, yet. I got on the computer and punched in 'how to stay sober' into the search and found this site. I have read alot of the forums and I have sat here laughing, crying and connecting and realized I had found not someone to talk to but a whole bunch of someone's! My desire has subsided, my pounding chest is not in my throat anymore and I am re-directed in thought. I'm not pacing but doing a happy dance in my heart now that I have found a place where I can fit in and others will be there to understand and help. I know that my decision to change will be hard, but I know in my soul it will be worth it! Thanks for being here!

Jana
Old 05-28-2004, 02:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)