Notices

New here, on night 2..

Old 07-07-2013, 08:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, on night 2..

Hello! I am a 42 year old female.

Im not an every day drinker, but I binge drank every friday and saturday. Usually never slept on Sunday night because I couldnt.

Started out adding another day to drink, Tuesday.. but that switched around, and if there was a holiday weekend then drinking went on.

I live with an alcoholic. He has been an alcoholic for 30 years or so.

I do not know if I am technically an alcoholic, but I know I abuse alcohol and its a big problem for me.

I didnt start drinking until I met the alcoholic I live with, about 3 1/2 years ago. Ive slowly built up over time until now I drink averagely 3 days a week.

I had never known an alcoholic before, so I didnt know what an issue it is. Which is REALLY dumb because I have a bachelors degree in human services.

He is very very functional-- and that is OH so misleading. He has a good job, never misses work, has had the same job for 16-18 years or so. He's very active ad responsible about errands and tasks and stuff.

Over time I feel like I was stripped of almost my whole self. He has these certain personality traits/ ways he screwed with my mind that crept up on me like I was a frog in a pot waiting to boil. Before I really knew the impact-- I was in deep.

Im looking forward being able to talk about how living with an alcoholic has changed me. because it leads to the next thing---> Im also looking for support with quitting drinking.

I have given him an ultimatum, he quits or me and my kids need to leave. We really dont belong sitting around in an alcoholic lifestyle anymore. So-- chances are I will be moving next month, because its doubtful that he'll quit.

Tomorrow will be a trigger day since I didnt drink saturday. Tuesday might feel even more triggery. I havent made it a whole week in over a year...... probably 2 years.
Old 07-07-2013, 11:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)