Notices

re-introduction

Old 05-11-2004, 05:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

re-introduction

I'm not quite a newcomer, having lurked here off and on for quite a while, even posting a message or two. But I need to spend more time here, and above all get to know some of you, become a buddy, a member of the community, because that's what works at least for me.

My story is fairly simple and neither as dramatic nor as painful as some I've read here. I began drinking heavily as a grad student in the late sixties, and by the mid-seventies, as a young assistant professor, I was in serious trouble (though didn't entirely realize it then). Somehow I pulled myself out of that, by distancing myself from my drinking buddies, concentrating on my family and my career, and gradually my drinking declined. But deep down inside, I knew that I was an addict, even when I wasn't drinking for long periods of time. Eventually I spoke to someone about it, even attending a few AA meetings with one of the guys I used to get drunk with. In particular, I seemed to recognize myself in some of the stories recounted in Anne Fletcher's Sober for Good, which tells how many of the people who have become and remained sober pulled it off.