Notices

New to the forum

Old 03-17-2013, 08:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to the forum

Hi,
I just signed up for the forum. I've been drinking heavily for about 20 years, and recently quit (again). I've been through the DUI's, the court mandated AA meetings, feeling sorry for myself and helpless, feeling angry with myself for being so weak, etc. I'm sure you all know the drill. I've quit cold turkey multiple times, tried to wean myself off, and used naltrexone to quit before with varying degrees of failure. I quit again a few weeks ago, but I'm having problems with staying sober. My problem isn't so much that I want to drink, it's that I sleep an average of 2 hours a night if I'm sober. Alcohol has always been my off switch. I'm bored and sick of staring at the same four walls every night. I lost myself along the way, burning bridge after bridge, pushing everyone away, and I don't know who I am. I don't have any interests, and I don't know what to do. I try to look at it as an opportunity to become someone new, someone I like, but it is hard to keep this view up when running on empty 22 hours a day, and I don't know where to begin. Anyway, thanks for letting me vent a bit - any suggestions would be welcome.
Old 03-17-2013, 08:18 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Marchia in Aeternum

I recently resorted to herbal tea. I have a hard time switching off and can easily stay up all night. I hate any kind of sleeping pill. Always wake up groggier than when I drank.
Old 03-17-2013, 08:26 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My sleep leveled out after a month or so. I know it's tough but it takes time for the body & mind to regulate. I kept busy when I was up at night by reading/ posting here, watching movies & reading recovery books. Getting and staying sober has taught me the beautiful lesson of patience & I'm still learning. Hang in there & welcome to sr
Old 03-17-2013, 08:37 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

hi and welcome lostalongtheway