Notices

Looking for support

Old 02-06-2013, 04:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Looking for support

Hi all,

Well I've decided that it was time I actually started talking about my problem. To someone, anyone, except well... anyone I know. Yeah, that would be because of the shame. I looked through some threads and it seems like I might find some help here, at least I will finally discuss what's been on my mind! Here it goes...

I've been drinking for over 4 years now, almost every night, but I can easily go a month long binge. I like either a bottle of wine + 2 beers, or around a pint of vodka, (I can go through a 1.4L bottle in 4-5 days) or 6-8 beers…I only drink after 6 PM so I didn’t really consider it a problem, other than a headache or feeling sick for a few hours in the morning half the time… but now, 4 years, 50 pounds and a loaded credit card later, I think I might need some help.

What I find weird is that I’m not trying to run away from anything, or forget anything… I try to focus on the good things: I have a husband who adores me and constantly compliments me, a rewarding career, just enough friends, though I don’t go out as much as I used to… I have a home and a nice car, enough money till recently, a loving family…When I don’t drink, it’s not sadness that I feel, its boredom. Like I’m missing out on my favourite hobby or something…

I was 6 days sober before Christmas, and I didn’t really feel better or like I accomplished anything special, which is sad because I wish that would have been a motivator for me. People told me I looked like I had lost weight, I was less bloated and didn’t have any more stomach aches… but still I didn’t feel any satisfaction. I’ve always struggled with self-hate, being un-interested in general, and, I suppose, depression. Never got any help for that.

Aaaanyway, I could go on and on about more stuff obviously…